top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTristan Learoyd

Tees Valley Scrutiny

Tuesday I went to the induction of the scrutiny board of the Tees Valley Combined Authority (TVCA). I presumed all those present would be councillors and council officers. I was very wrong. Under the TVCA sits the STDC, or Teesworks, at least five of those scrutinising are appointed. I have two issues with this.


First, the independent members are not elected. They are appointed, via the body they are to scrutinize. There is a pretty obvious conflict of interest here.


Secondly, those appointed have never been elected. To be clear, I could have easily played this corporate card. "Hey, I'm a global director, give me a public sector scrutiny position". But that's not how I roll.


The other guys have done exactly this, played the game. They've presented CVs and been close enough to power to be appointed. This is why I don't think appointed people make good scrutiny - they are too close to power. They don't have to deal with public outrage, the late night calls, the social media trolls and the sleepless nights. They don't have to deliver 1000s of leaflets and deal with corporates. They are the unelected corporates and the public has little control over them.


At the scrutiny panel induction were at two other councillors who are prepared to ask awkward questions and bring some people to account for the bad administration regarding Teesworks. However, I'm only down as a substitute. I'd be very surprised if the TVCA and Teesworks will pass me information readily and I ever get an opportunity to sit in on a scrutiny board. Sharp minds are likely not welcome, unless they are compliant.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page